Brighton Festival 2016Counting down to our 50th
Festival this May

Filter: Art and film
Clear
25 results

Gillian Wearing

Sat 30 Apr - Sun 29 May
University of Brighton Gallery

A collaborative work which captures a snapshot of 'views' from windows

Luminary

Sat 9 Apr - Sun 29 May
Fabrica

A series of beautiful LED light-drawings at locations across the city

Unlimited: Three Films

Sat 7 - Sun 29 May
Brighton Dome Café-bar

Three films examining society's attitudes to real lives

The Sprawl

Sat 7 - Sun 29 May
Lighthouse

Installation that argues the internet has become a disruptive super weapon

The Doorways Project

Sat 7 - Sun 29 May

An outdoor sound installation, inspired by experience of life on the street

Giddy Brighton

Sat 7 - Sun 29 May
University of Brighton Gallery

Walk vicariously down memory lane with memories of Brighton & Hove life

FutureGazers

Sat 7 - Sun 29 May
ONCA Gallery

What will Brighton look like in 50 years?

Fanfare

Sat 7 - Sun 29 May
Clock Tower

Local artist Bec Britain decorates the clock tower with a 1960’s inspired…

Portraits in Motion

Sat 7 - Wed 11 May
Brighton Dome Studio Theatre

Volker Gerling brings his photographic flipbooks to life

No Home Movie

Sun 8 May
Duke's at Komedia

The final film of the great Belgian film-maker Chantal Akerman

Tindersticks

Sun 8 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

Performing new album The Waiting Room to a backdrop of short films

Heart of a Dog

Tue 10 May
Duke of York's Picturehouse

A reflection on love, language and death inspired by Laurie's pet Lolabelle

Brighton - Symphony of a City

Wed 11 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

A fusion of silent film and live music inspired by our vibrant city

Lou Reed Drones

Fri 13 - Tue 17 May
The Spire, St Mark’s Chapel

Feedback loops from his guitars and amps create an emotional experience

Sans Soleil (Sunless)

Sun 15 May
Duke of York's Picturehouse

A poetic documentary tour of Tokyo, Guinea-Bissau, Iceland & San Francisco

Real Life Actually

Tue 17 - Sat 28 May
St Nicholas' Church

A film and 3D surround-sound installation inspiring us to acknowledge death

Slideshow

Wed 18 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

A specially created performance monologue about place and places

At Home

Fri 20 - Sat 21 May
Angel House

Home Live Art has taken up temporary residence in the exquisite Angel House

Fuga Perpetua

Fri 20 May
Brighton Dome Corn Exchange

The more we read and hear about refugees, the less it seems that we understand…

Big Steam Print

Sun 22 May
The Level

Bringing the magic of printing into the open air for all to see