Brighton Festival 2017Public booking opens: Fri 24 Feb, 9am

Hide filter
Filter: Books and debate01/01/2017 - 31/12/2017
Clear
2017
Past Festivals
23 results

Book Swap Boxes

Wed 8 Mar - Sun 28 May

Find books across the city for free during the City Reads reading period

Emma Cline

Sat 6 May
Brighton and Hove High School

Due to unforeseen circumstances this event has been cancelled

HIV: Is Victory in Sight?

Sun 7 May
Sallis Benney Theatre

Brighton is set to become the first city in the UK to have United Nations ‘Fast…

Eimear McBride introduces Megan Bradbury

Sun 7 May
Brighton and Hove High School

Two of the most exciting experimental novelists working in Britain come together…

Breaking the Spell of Loneliness

Sun 7 May
The Spire

It started with an article in the Guardian, in which George Monbiot argued…

Tessa Ross in conversation

Mon 8 May
Duke of York's Picturehouse

Producer and former head of Film4, Tessa Ross has worked over the last 20 years…

Polly Toynbee and David Walker

Tue 9 May
Brighton and Hove High School

From the bestselling authors of Cameron's Coup comes a devastating critique…

Ali Smith

Tue 9 May
Brighton and Hove High School

Ali Smith's latest novel, Autumn, is set in the wake of the Brexit vote. Daniel…

Billy Bragg in conversation with Alexis Petridis

Thu 11 May
The Spire

This event is fully booked, but returns may be available

Xiaolu Guo

Fri 12 May
Brighthelm Centre

Novelist and film-maker Xiaolu Guo charts her journey from a remote fishing…

Democracy Debate: What Comes Next?

Sat 13 May
Attenborough Centre for the Creative Arts

*Please note, the panel for tonight's debate has changed. Due to illness, Caroline…

The Story Collider

Sun 14 May
The Basement

This event has now moved to The Basement. All original tickets are still…

City Reads 2017: Sharon Duggal

Sun 14 May
Sallis Benney Theatre

Brighton-based British Asian writer Sharon Duggal’s debut novel is this year's…

Jackie Kay introduces Zaffar Kunial

Tue 16 May
Brighton and Hove High School

We regret to inform you that this event has been cancelled

Helen Oyeyemi

Sat 20 May
Brighton and Hove High School

One of the most striking voices in contemporary literature, Helen Oyeyemi talks…

Gary Younge in conversation with Colin Grant

Sat 20 May
Brighton and Hove High School

On 23 November 2013, 10 children were shot dead in the USA. None made the national…

Petina Gappah

Sun 21 May
Brighton and Hove High School

Petina Gappah crosses the barriers of class, race, gender and sexual politics…

A History of Britain in 21 Women Jenni Murray and Helen Lewis

Sun 21 May
Brighton and Hove High School

This event is fully booked, but returns may be available

Tariq Ali

Wed 24 May
Brighthelm Centre

This event is fully booked, but returns may be available

Raja Shehadeh

Thu 25 May
Brighthelm Centre

Raja Shehadeh is Palestine’s leading writer, a lawyer and human-rights activist,…