Classical Music

Livestream: Chineke! Chamber Ensemble

19 May 2021
From £5
Book Here

Performing Schubert’s beloved ‘Trout’ quintet alongside two folksong arrangements by the remarkable American composer Florence Price. Livestreamed from Brighton Dome

Price  ‘Drink to me only with thine eyes’ and ‘Shortnin’ Bread’ from Five Folksongs in Counterpoint
Schubert Piano Quintet in A D667, ‘Trout’

Julian Gil Rodriguez violin
Clifton Harrison viola
Ashok Klouda cello
Chi-chi Nwanoku OBE double bass
Caroline Jaya Ratnam piano

Chineke! Orchestra has developed a strong reputation in the UK and across the world championing the work of Black & ethnically diverse musicians and composers both living and from the past whose work has been neglected. It is noted for the vivacity of its performances of the standard repertoire alongside rarities ripe for rediscovery.

Chineke!’s chamber ensemble performs Schubert’s beloved ‘Trout’ quintet, in which gossamer textures and infectious tunes conjure a summer idyll, alongside arrangements by the remarkable American composer Florence Price of two folksongs. Price drew on her African–American heritage to create music of rare depth and eloquence, spiking the great European classical tradition with the rhythms and sensibilities of spirituals and West African music.

You Might Also Like

Classical Music

Brighton Festival Ditchling Museum Music Trail

Download the free app and explore the South Downs on a nature trail accompanied by orchestral music

1 - 31 May 2021
Classical Music

Roberto Ruisi and Ljubica Stojanovic

Performing music by Debussy and Beethoven’s mighty ‘Kreutzer’ Sonata

17 May 2021, 13:00
Classical Music


Baritone Roderick Williams is joined by rising stars Ella Taylor and Themba Mvula to explore Schubert’s Schwanengesang

17 May 2021, 20:00