Brighton Festival 2019Public booking opens: Fri 24 Feb, 9am

Filter: Books and debate
Clear
24 results

Writers at Risk Gallery

Brighton Dome Founders Room

A Festival-long free gallery of writers at risk and their books

Caged Birds Do

Sat 4 May
Brighthelm Centre

Maya Angelou’s legacy honoured in compelling live poetry and song

Dream Horse

Sun 5 May
Brighton and Hove High School

The real-life fairy tale of a Welsh barmaid who bred a champion racehorse

Some Small Isle

Sun 5 May
Brighton and Hove High School

Prominent creatives discuss how the Windrush affects their approach to work

PEN Translates 250

Mon 6 May
Brighton and Hove Prep School

A panel celebrating the contribution of translation to UK reading

Granta at 40

Tue 7 May
Brighthelm Centre

Sigrid Rausing & Ian Jack discuss the legacy and future of Granta magazine

Ben Okri Adventures in Writing

Tue 7 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

Ben Okri reads from his new novel and discusses his adventures as a writer

Common People

Wed 8 May
Brighton and Hove High School

Readings from contributors to the working-class anthology Common People

Unseen Mentor

Fri 10 May
The Basement

Jacob Sam-La Rose presents some of his now-accomplished poet mentees

Travelling Traditions

Sat 11 May
Brighton and Hove High School

Reading featuring authors with writing textured by echoes of a distant home

Shapeshifters

Sun 12 May
Brighton and Hove High School

Zawe and Candice discuss the joys and perils of playing multiple roles

City Reads 2019

Sun 12 May
Brighton and Hove High School

S.K. Perry discusses her lyrical début, this year’s City Reads book

Bring Me In

Tue 14 May
Brighton Dome Founders Room

Performance and networking event that aims to make the theatre for everyone

The New Dystopians

Wed 15 May
Brighton and Hove High School

Season Butler & Joanne Ramos read from their dystopian debut novels.

Chamber Music Will Ashon with Kevin Le Gendre

Fri 17 May
Brighthelm Centre

Conversation on a new biography of the Wu-Tang Clan’s iconic hip hop album

Flavour Migrations

Fri 17 May
Brighthelm Centre

Shelina Permalloo discusses how migration has shaped her Mauritian cuisine

The Storytelling Army

Sat 18 May
Queens Park

Join us for a simple meal with shared stories about personal journeys

The Storytelling Army

Sun 19 May
Worthing Pavilion Cafe Bar

Join us for a simple meal with shared stories about personal journeys

Writing Big Themes for Small People

Sun 19 May
Brighthelm Centre

Children's authors discuss tackling the themes of grief, loss and sadness

Luke Wright: Poet Laureate

Thu 23 May
Brighthelm Centre

Luke Wright puts his hat in the ring to be the nation’s new Poet Laureate

Peter Sellars and Rokia Traoré

Fri 24 May
The Old Market

Two incredible artists, two amazing imaginations in conversation.

New Daughters of Africa

Fri 24 May
Brighthelm Centre

Expansive new collection of work from women writers of African descent

Acts of Care

Sat 25 May
Brighton and Hove High School

Gautam Malkani & Michael Donkor read from new novels featuring young carers

Safe

Sun 26 May
The Basement

Editor Derek Owusu leads conversations on the lives of Black men in Britain