Brighton Festival 2020Public booking opens: Wed 19 Feb, 9am

Hide filter
Filter: Books & debate01/01/2020 - 31/12/2020
Clear
2020
Past Festivals
20 results

Adopt A Nation

Sat 2 - Sun 24 May

Your chance to adopt Lemn in a one-on-one experience

Ali Smith: Seasons

Sat 2 May
Brighton Girls

Iconic author Ali Smith discusses her quartet of novels exploring contemporary…

Superior: Angela Saini

Sun 3 May
Brighton Girls

Science journalist Angela Saini on enduring myths and the political motive

Time Shifts

Sun 3 May
Brighton Girls

A human existence is all motion – some in distance, some in time.

My Name Is Why

Wed 6 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

Guest Director Lemn Sissay reflects on a childhood in foster care

Vintage Poets

Fri 8 May
Brighthelm Centre

Vintage presents some of its new stars of the future

A Place in Time Evie Wyld & Niven Govinden

Sat 9 May
Brighthelm Centre

Acclaimed writers Niven Govinden & Evie Wyld probe injustice in two novels

Tribes: David Lammy

Sat 9 May
Brighthelm Centre

Member of Parliament, Spurs fan and a tireless campaigner for social

One Two Three Four: The Beatles In Time

Sat 9 May

Celebrated journalist Craig Brown reads from his unique Beatles biography.

Travelling Traditions

Sun 10 May
Brighton Girls

Exploring the enduring DNA of storytelling.

Polly Toynbee

Thu 14 May
Brighton Girls

Guardian columnist Polly Toynbee dissects the dark decade that was

Lime Time

Thu 14 May
Attenborough Centre for the Creative Arts

Poetry celebrated with Caribbean poets, including Roger Robinson

The Time Has Now Come: New Habesha Visionaries

Fri 15 May
Brighthelm Centre

What does the world’s oldest civilisation have to say to the future?

Alain Mabanckou: The Death of Comrade President

Sat 16 May
Brighton Girls

Renowned writer Alain Mabanckou explores his witty, emotive novel.

Kit de Waal

Sun 17 May
Brighton Girls

Kit de Waal delivers her New Writing South Statement on democracy

Time Capsules Courttia Newland & Lisa Blower

Sun 17 May
Brighton Girls

A time capsule that speaks of a universe greater than its contents.

How To Be Autistic: Charlotte Amelia Poe

Thu 21 May
Brighton Girls

Reflecting back on adulthood we challenge neurotypical narratives of autism

A Poet's Music

Sat 23 May

Award-winning poets Nathalie Handal & Kayo Chingonyi share music and poetry

The Turning Wheel

Sun 24 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

Ozwald Boateng has been a trailblazer and innovator in global fashion.

In Translation: Rodaan al Galidi & Alia Trabucco Zerán

Sun 24 May
Brighton Girls

Translated writers Rodaan al Galidi (Iraq/Netherlands) & Alia Trabucco Zerá