Brighton Festival 2019Public booking opens: Fri 24 Feb, 9am

Hide filter
Filter: Contemporary music01/01/2019 - 31/12/2019
Clear
2019
Past Festivals
17 results

Né So

Sat 4 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

Malian musician Rokia Traoré shares her highly personal sixth album, Né So

30 Years Of Mr Bongo

Sun 5 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

An epic party with The Skints, Moses Boyd Exodus, Hollie Cook, DJs + more

The Nature of Why

Mon 6 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

Immersive, genre-blending, live classical music and dance event.

King of Ghosts

Wed 8 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

Soumik Datta and City of London Sinfonia with music for Indian film

Sam Sweeney - The Unfinished Violin

Wed 8 May
All Saints Church

The story of an unfinished fiddle comes to life in Sam Sweeny’s live show

Eye to Eye

Sat 11 - Sun 12 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

A new work about motherhood-childhood brought to life by 100 voices

AKA Trio

Sat 11 May
All Saints Church

World-renowned virtuosos from different continents create uplifting sounds

Chilly Gonzales

Mon 13 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

Grammy-winning entertainer Chilly Gonzales shares his love of the piano

Dream Mandé: Bamanan Djourou

Sat 18 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

Rokia Traoré gives new life to traditional and international songs

Groove Under the Sea

Sun 19 May
Brighthelm Centre

Quality live jazz with themed storytelling for all the family to enjoy!

Groove Into Space

Sun 19 May
Brighthelm Centre

Quality live jazz with themed storytelling for all the family to enjoy!

Dream Mandé: Djata

Tue 21 May
Theatre Royal Brighton

Hear the story of the Mandinka sung in original griot form, and in English!

Ariwo and Resonators

Wed 22 May
The Old Market

Distinctive Afro-rock uniting varied Malian cultures with western sounds.

Played Twice

Thu 23 May
All Saints Church

A reinterpretation of Sunday at the Village Vanguard by Bill Evans Trio

Salomé

Thu 23 May
The Old Market

Circuit de Yeux’s live soundtrack for cult silent film Salomé hits Brighton

Slow Moving Clouds

Fri 24 May
The Old Market

Minimalist and experimental contemporary music from Slow Moving Clouds

Neneh Cherry

Sat 25 May
Brighton Dome Concert Hall

Iconic Swedish singer-songwriter shares her new album Broken Politics