Isata Kanneh Mason stands smiling behind a grand piano
Image © Robin Clewley
Past Event
Classical Music

Livestream: Isata Kanneh-Mason

Tue 25 May 2021

Isata Kanneh-Mason's Festival debut performing a showcase spanning three centuries, including works of Mozart, Chopin and Gershwin

Isata Kanneh-Mason piano

Mozart Piano Sonata No. 14 in C minor K457
Chopin Ballade No. 2 in F major Op. 38
Gershwin Three Preludes
Barber Piano Sonata in E-flat minor Op. 26

Isata Kanneh-Mason is one of the UK’s most exciting new classical talents, and for her Festival debut she performs a programme that spans three centuries, perfectly displaying the full range of her skilful artistry. Mozart’s graceful C minor sonata, which already looks forward to the burgeoning Romanticism of Beethoven, is followed by Chopin’s Op.38 Ballade, pretty and powerful by turns. Then Gershwin’s scintillating syncopation gives way to Barber’s bold expressionism as Isata brings us into the 20th Century. This recital, full of colour and contrast, is a glorious showcase for this outstanding pianist.

This performance is also available a socially distanced live event, find out more 

Steinway Logo