Past Event
Classical Music

Chineke! Chamber Ensemble

Wed 19 May 2021
Loading performances

The Chineke! Chamber Ensemble perform Schubert’s beloved ‘Trout’ quintet alongside two folksong arrangements by the remarkable American composer Florence Price

Price  ‘Drink to me only with thine eyes’ and ‘Shortnin’ Bread’ from Five Folksongs in Counterpoint
Schubert Piano Quintet in A D667, ‘Trout’

Julian Gil Rodriguez violin
Stephen Upshaw*.viola
Ashok Klouda cello
Chi-chi Nwanoku OBE double bass
Caroline Jaya Ratnam piano

Chineke! Orchestra has developed a strong reputation in the UK and across the world championing the work of Black & ethnically diverse musicians and composers both living and from the past whose work has been neglected. It is noted for the vivacity of its performances of the standard repertoire alongside rarities ripe for rediscovery.

Chineke!’s chamber ensemble performs Schubert’s beloved ‘Trout’ quintet, in which gossamer textures and infectious tunes conjure a summer idyll, alongside arrangements by the remarkable American composer Florence Price of two folksongs. Price drew on her African–American heritage to create music of rare depth and eloquence, spiking the great European classical tradition with the rhythms and sensibilities of spirituals and West African music.


*Replaces Clifton Harrison

Steinway Logo