Past Event
Classical Music

Chineke! Chamber Ensemble

Mon 3 Feb 2020

Schubert Adagio and Rondo Concertante in F for Piano Quartet D487
Coleridge-Taylor Piano Quintet in G minor Op 1
Schubert Piano Quintet in A D667, ‘Trout’

Chineke! Orchestra has redefined the classical music experience in the UK. Championing both the finest young BME musical talent and the work of neglected BME composers, it is noted for the brilliance of its performances of the standard repertoire alongside rarities ripe for rediscovery.

Chineke!’s chamber ensemble performs two masterworks by Schubert: the Adagio and Rondo Concertante brims with light and lyricism, while in the beloved ‘Trout’ quintet, gossamer textures and infectious tunes conjure a summer idyll. The remarkable composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor wrote his dynamic Piano Quintet in 1893, aged just 18. It displays all the richness and melody that would establish him as one of the most eloquent voices in English music.