Past Event
Classical Music

Takacs Quartet

Wed 10 Feb 2016

Schubert Quartet in A minor D804, ‘Rosamunde’
Webern Langsamer Satz
Dvorák String Quartet No. 14 in A-flat major Op. 105

A legendary chamber ensemble and the glorious gardens of Glyndebourne make an irresistible combination for a perfect Sunday afternoon. 

The Takács Quartet charts the evolution of Romanticism, from Schubert’s exquisite 'Rosamunde' Quartet (1824), whose second movement is one of the best-loved melodies in all chamber music, to the tender lucidity of Webern’s compact masterpiece Langsamer Satz (1905). Alongside these, Dvorák’s joyful String Quartet No. 14 took the traditional quartet to new levels of eloquence and opulence.