Past Event
Classical Music

Brian O’Kane MinJung Baek

Fri 15 Feb 2013

Brian O’Kane cello
MinJung Baek piano

J.S. Bach Solo Suite No. 1 in G major BWV1007
Rachmaninov Cello Sonata in G minor Op. 19

For many, the sound of the cello is synonymous with Bach’s Solo Suite No. 1: its opening, in particular, is an instantly familiar cornerstone of the cello repertory. In Rachmaninov’s sonata, the eloquence of the cello is equalled by the piano – indeed, the composer himself disliked calling it a cello sonata, as he felt the piano was equally prominent. The Irish cellist Brian O’Kane, who won the 2008 Windsor Festival International String competition and recently joined the acclaimed Navarra Quartet, is joined by MinJung Baek, who has won numerous international competitions, most recently the 2012 Beethoven Piano Society of Europe Competition.

 In association with Kirckman Concert Society