Past Event
Classical Music

London Symphony Orchestra

Mon 3 Feb 2020

Ádám Fischer conductor
Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider violin
Haydn Symphony No 88 in G major H:1/88
Mozart Violin Concerto No 2 in D major K211
Dvorˇák Symphony No 9 Op 95
‘From the New World’

Brighton Festival welcomes the return of one of the world’s great orchestras. The London Symphony Orchestra joins forces with star conductor Ádám Fischer and the superlative violinist Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider for a programme defined by grace and grandeur, merriment and melody.

Haydn, always good-humoured, displays his characteristic wit and cheerfulness in his Symphony No 88; Mozart’s Violin Concerto K211 is similarly charming, its delicate orchestration providing the soloist with passages of luminous virtuosity. In contrast, Dvorˇák’s ever popular New World Symphony is on a more imposing scale, drawing on African-American and Native American music to encapsulate the vastness and excitement of the USA.