Past Event
Classical Music

Paul Lewis

Fri 15 Feb 2013

Sonata No.19 in C minor D958 
Sonata No.20 in A major D959 
Sonata No.21 in B flat major D960

At the beginning of 2011, Paul Lewis embarked upon a two-year project to perform all the piano works from the last six years of Schubert’s life. As this labour of love reaches its climax, he performs Schubert’s last major compositions for the piano, written the year before his death in 1828.

The three late sonatas represent the culmination of Schubert’s genius for writing for the piano. Revealing a rare depth of expressiveness, they reflect the turbulent emotions that assailed Schubert in the closing months of his life and present profound challenges and opportunities for an eloquent interpreter.

Paul Lewis’s Schubert odyssey has taken him to concert halls throughout the UK, the USA, Japan and Australia, as well as to the great musical centres of Europe. This concert provides a breathtaking overview not only of Schubert’s genius but also of the artistry of one of today’s great instrumentalists.

View the event programme