Past Event

Heath Quartet with Philip Higham (cello)

Sun 1 Jan 2012

Haydn  String Quartet in B flat, Op. 33 No. 4
Kurtág  12 Microludes, Op. 13 (1977)
Schubert  String Quintet in C, D.956

Our third and final evening in our series of chamber recitals celebrating the music of Franz Schubert and György Kurtág is in partnership with Alfriston Summer Music Festival.

Completed just two months before his death in 1828, Schubert’s only work for string quintet was also his last. It holds the unusual distinction of being written for two cellos. For our final concert, Heath Quartet is joined by Philip Higham - the first British cellist in generations to have won top prizes at three major international competitions.

Part of the London 2012 Festival, a spectacular 12-week nationwide celebration from 21 June - 9 September bringing together leading artists worldwide with the very best from the UK, funded by Arts Council England.

In association with Alfriston Summer Music.