Heath Quartet posing with their string instruments
photo credit Kaupo Kikkas
Classical Music

Heath Quartet

Wed 22 May 2024
Loading performances

Returning to the splendor of the Royal Pavilion Music Room

Haydn String Quartet in Bb major, Op.50, No. 1  

Henriëtte Bosmans String Quartet  

Lyadov Sarabande and Fugue J  

Korngold String Quartet No. 3 in D major, Op.34

Brighton Festival returns to the splendour of the Royal Pavilion’s Music Room with a new programme from the award-winning Heath Quartet.

Featuring the first of the six forward-looking quartets that Haydn wrote for the King of Prussia and paired here with the Debussyesque 1927 quartet by Henriëtte Bosmans, whose music was banned by the Nazis. The second half starts with a short work by 19th Russian composer Lyadov and followed by a modernist 1945 quartet by the Austrian Jewish composer Erich Wolfgang Korngold, who escaped Nazi-occupied Europe to enjoy a successful Hollywood career