Brighton Festival 2017Public booking opens: Fri 24 Feb, 9am

Perform as part of Brighton Festival 2017

We’re looking for 100-125 singers to perform as part of a special inter-choral choir for a large-scale, cross-art outdoor performance, featuring song, dance and physical theatre, as part of Brighton Festival 2017.

Come and lend your voice to a cutting-edge performance installation, celebrating myth, ritual and journeying. The choral music is devised specifically for singers and choirs by composer/arranger, Sam Glazer, and draws inspiration from Faure, Rilke and Ovid as well as beautiful new music specially written for the project.

Singers from all walks of life and levels of musical experience are invited to take part in this event. You can either take part independently, as part of a small group or bring your whole choir along! The music will be learned independently over 5 months (from January - May) and supported by regular rehearsals. We ask you to be available for the majority of the rehearsals and all of the performance dates - please see list below.

All participating singers will have access to rehearsal materials, which contains the score and audio files to support your learning. You do not need to be able to sight-sing or read music to take part, as all the music will be taught aurally at the rehearsals. You do need access to a computer and the internet. The rehearsals will be led by Kirsty Martin, who is Musical Director of Brighton’s Hullabaloo Quire.

The event is completely free to participate in, but we ask you to commit to the project and be available for the majority of the rehearsals and all of the performance dates - please see list below. Venues and times TBC.

Rehearsal Dates: (must be available for the majority of rehearsals)
Tuesday 10 Jan: Introduction session in the evening - come and sample the songs and last chance for people to sign up (final deadline for signing up will be Mon 16 Jan)
Wednesday 1 February, evening
Saturday 25 February, half day
Tuesday 14 March, evening
Tuesday 28 March, evening
Saturday 22 April, half day
Wednesday 10 May, evening
Tuesday 23 May, evening
Wednesday 24 May, evening (final rehearsal)

Performances: (must be available for all performances)
Thursday 25 May, evening
Friday 26 May, evening
Saturday 27 May, evening
Sunday 28 May, evening

For choirs and choir leaders who are interested in taking part please email: kirstymartin@me.com

For individuals, please fill out this form to express your interest by Thu 6 Jan: 
brightonfestival.org/bf17-call-out-for-singers/

If you are interested in taking part, please come to the Introductory Workshop on Tue 10 Jan, 6.45pm - 9.15pm at The Friends' Meeting House, Ship Street, Brighton.